Marc Adams – Growing up gay in a fundamentalist world

Last night The Freethought Society held its monthly meeting. The attendance was rather sparse. If I had to guess, I would say that this was because the imaginary gods of ancient mythologies decided to send a snow storm our way specifically to disrupt our meeting. Seriously though, the speaker was very interesting. He was Jason Schnittker, an Associate Professor of Sociology at the University of Pennsylvania. He gave a talk to us about the changing attitudes towards mental illness in the United States over the last sixty years. My original plan for today’s post was to talk about his lecture and show the video that was shot. This was a rather ill-conceived plan and I really should have known better considering that I have experience in how long it takes to edit and render and upload a 90 minute video–particularly when there are slides involved.

So I will save my discussion of that talk for when I have the accompanying video to show with it. In the meantime, let me reach into FSGP’s vast reserves of videos of past lectures. Here is Marc Adams from October 17, 2008 talking about what it was like growing up gay in a fundamentalist Christian world.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Marc Adams talks about growing up gay…“, posted with vodpod
Leave a Reply

